Twenty-five of the country's largest media organizations have a message for the Obama administration: It's time to rescue Washington Post journalist Jason Rezaian.

Editors from around the U.S. penned a letter to Secretary of State John Kerry Friday urging the diplomat to do everything in his power to save the American reporter before it's too late.

"Journalism is not a crime. Yet Washington Post journalist Jason Rezaian has been imprisoned by Iran since July 2014 for doing his job ... We know you agree that Iran should release Jason and on behalf of our organizations and journalists around the world, we are writing to urge you to maintain these efforts to forge a path to that release ... Many of our organizations employ journalists who, like Jason, operate in countries, like Iran," the letter said.

In October, Rezaian was convicted by the Iranian government on charges that included espionage and sentenced to prison. Iran has released little information about the details surrounding his arrest and imprisonment.

The group of journalism school officials and newspaper presidents and editors believe the U.S. has "considerable leverage with Iran right now" to make a deal that would free Rezaian after his 19 months of imprisonment.

The organizations who signed the letter include:

Stephen J. Adler

President and Editor-in-ChiefReuters

Raney Aronson-Rath

Executive ProducerFRONTLINE

Dean Baquet

Executive EditorThe New York Times

Bruce D. Brown

Executive DirectorReporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

Kathleen Carroll

Senior Vice President and Executive EditorThe Associated Press

Steve Coll

Dean, Graduate School of JournalismColumbia University

Stephen Engelbert


Jeffrey Fager

Executive Producer60 Minutes

Pamela B. Fine

PresidentAmerican Society of News Editors

Susan B. Glasser


James Goldston

PresidentABC News

Anders Gyllenhaal

Vice President, News and Washington EditorMcClatchy

Sara Just

Senior Vice President, WETA andExecutive ProducerPBS NewsHour

Andrew Lack

ChairmanNBC News and MSNBC

Davan Maharaj

EditorThe Los Angeles Times

John Micklethwait

Editor-in-ChiefBloomberg L.P.

Jason Mojica

Editor-in-ChiefVICE News

Michael Oreskes

Senior Vice President of News andEditorial DirectorNPR

David Remnick

EditorThe New Yorker

David Rhodes

PresidentCBS News

Robert J. Rosenthal

Executive DirectorThe Center for Investigative Reporting

Ben Smith


Marty M. Steffens

North America ChairInternational Press Institute

Mike Wilson

EditorDallas Morning News

Jeff Zucker

PresidentCNN Worldwide