Attorneys general from 14 states and the District of Columbia sued the Environmental Protection Agency on Tuesday for missing a deadline to implement strict Obama-era standards for controlling smog-forming pollution.

The attorneys general want the EPA to designate the regions of the nation that are not in compliance with the ozone rules.

The states represented are New York, California, Connecticut, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.

EPA is required under the Clean Air Act to designate noncompliant areas of the country under the ozone rule by Oct. 1, but it failed to do so.

In November, EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt said he was still consulting with states and local regions on how to meet the standards and needed more time before making any decisions on noncompliant areas.

Under the ozone rules, the EPA must designate regions of the country that cannot comply with the standards and then work with the states to develop plans to reduce the smog-forming pollution.

In June, Pruitt tried to impose a lengthy delay on the implementation of the rules, which he reversed after legal challenges.

Pruitt in November announced that 2,646 counties in the country meet the new standards, but did not declare the remaining counties as nonattainment areas.

Environmental and public health groups Earthjustice, the Sierra Club, and the American Lung Association sued the EPA on Monday for the same reason.

The EPA said it still intends to address nonattainment areas in a future action, despite missing the Oct. 1 deadline.