Four teams had fired their head coaches on "Black Monday" as the National Football League moved from the regular season to the playoffs.

Chuck Pagano of the 4-12 of Indianapolis Colts, John Fox of the 5-11 Chicago Bears, Jack Del Rio of the 6-10 Oakland Raiders and Jim Caldwell of the Detroit Lions were sent packing after their teams missed the playoffs and were a general disappointment through the 16-game season.

They join former New York Giants head coach Ben McAdoo, who was fired after Week 13 following a 2-10 start and the short-term benching of veteran quarterback Eli Manning. The Giants finished the season 3-13. Arizona Cardinals head coach Bruce Arians announced his retirement on Monday.

Green Bay Packers defensive coordinator Dom Capers was also relieved of his duty after a 7-9 season. Star quarterback Aaron Rodgers missed time due to a broken collarbone.

For Pagano's Colts, it was the third straight season missing the playoffs after a 45-7 defeat in the 2014 AFC Championship Game at the hands of the New England Patriots, a match that gave rise to the "Deflategate" controversy. The Colts were without quarterback Andrew Luck throughout the 2017 season and had to trade for the Patriots' third-string quarterback Jacoby Brissett.

Del Rio's Raiders had gone 12-4 the previous season and were considered Super Bowl contenders until an injury to quarterback Derek Carr. But the team woefully underperformed expectations this year, ending Del Rio's coaching tenure and potentially paving the way for commentator Jon Gruden to return to the NFL ahead of the Raiders' move to Las Vegas.

Cincinnati Bengals head coach Marvin Lewis faces an uncertain future after posting 7-9 record this season and failing to win a playoff game in his 15-year tenure. The Bengals did manage to win their final game, spoiling the playoff chances of divisional rivals the Baltimore Ravens. Lewis could return or take a non-coaching front office position.

NFL playoffs begin on Saturday with "Wild Card" weekend, in which each conference's wild card teams and the lowest-seeded division winners will play.