Several members of Congress from hurricane-ravaged Texas voted against the House's $15.25 billion disaster relief bill, which includes a three-month extension of both federal government funding and borrowing authority.

The Texans to vote 'no' included Reps. Joe Barton, Jeb Hensarling, Sam Johnson, and Mac Thornberry. The bill, which is headed to President Trump's desk, received "yes" votes from all House Democrats.

"I always do what I think is right. I thought that was the right vote," Republican Rep. Joe Barton told the Dallas Morning News.

Thornberry said in a statement: "I am voting against this bill, is that it forces our military to operate under a stopgap continuing resolution -- once again. Continuing resolutions do enormous, lasting damage to the American military."

He also added: "Disaster assistance should be considered on its own – not to advance another agenda."

Hensarling, the House Financial Services Committee chairman, said on Wednesday he was seeking an overhaul of the nation's flood insurance program, which Friday's bill did not include.

The final vote was 316-90. The bill would prevent a government shutdown.

A stand-alone bill earlier this week with $8 billion in relief funds was given a "yes" from all Texas Republican House members. However, earlier this week, Trump and Democratic leaders negotiated a deal for the relief money to be tied to a spending bill.

Rep. Pete Sessions, chairman of the House Rules Committee, said he voted for the legislation because it provides necessary funding.

"Today's measure will provide necessary relief and resources to help our fellow Americans as they face an extraordinarily difficult time," he said in a statement.

Many Republicans wanted a debt ceiling increase that would last 18 months, putting off another vote on the matter. Some conservatives sought broader spending reform.