The House next week is expected to pass a resolution authorizing Virginia, Maryland, and the District of Columbia to enter into a compact to establish a Metro safety commission.

Authorities are hoping to form a Washington Metrorail Safety Commission to act as an oversight authority for the train service, which crosses into all three jurisdictions.

The resolution, from House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer, D-Md., gives consent to the three jurisdictions to create the commission. Once created, the commission will have "safety regulatory and enforcement authority" over the Metro system, and it grants the commission broad authority to take the necessary steps to play that role.

It holds that the commission will be led by six commissioners and that Virginia, Maryland, and Washington, D.C., will each pick two commissioners.

And, it prescribes an oath of office that each commissioner must take before taking the job:

"I, ____, hereby solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution and the laws of the United States as a Member (or Alternate Member) of the Board of the Washington Metrorail Safety Commission and will faithfully discharge the duties of the office upon which I am about to enter," it said.

The Metro system was plagued by a series of accidents, explosions and even a rider death over the last few years, which prompted a long series of repair jobs starting in 2016.

Riders in the area have also grumbled about expected fare hikes, along with ongoing repairs and single tracking into 2017 that has shown no sign of letting up.