After leading Maryland to the College Cup for the first time since 2008, junior forward Patrick Mullins became the second player in school history to win the MAC Hermann Trophy, college soccer’s version of the Heisman.

Mullins had 17 goals (seven game-winners) and 10 assists for the Terrapins (20-1-3), who won the ACC title and lost in penalty kicks in the national semifinals to Georgetown after a thrilling 4-4 tie.

Mullins, who hails from New Orleans – the same hometown as Jason Garey, who was Maryland’s first-ever Hermann Trophy winner in 2005 – was also named ACC offensive player of the year and MVP of the ACC championship.

Mullins turned down offers from Major League Soccer to return to Maryland next season, the first Hermann Trophy winner to do so since O’Brian White in 2007.

On the women’s side, Crystal Dunn, a junior forward from North Carolina, won over Penn State senior midfielder Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.) and Virginia senior forward Caroline Miller (Rockville, Md.).

The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), along with a fan vote that cumulatively counted as the equivalent of one coach’s vote.

In related news, a pair of Terrapins, defender Mikey Ambrose and midfielder Dan Metzger, were named to the U.S. under-20 roster for a weeklong training camp in Mexico. Georgetown forward Brandon Allen, who was named Soccer America freshman of the year, was also included. The camp takes place ahead of the CONCACAF u-20 championship, which runs from Feb. 18 – Mar. 3. If any of those players are named to the final roster for the tournament, it could compromise their academic plans for the spring semester. Hoyas goalkeeper Tomas Gomez was also invited to this latest camp but had to withdraw due to an injury.

At the under-17 level, Manassas Park’s Junior Flores was announced as a member of the U.S. residency program in Bradenton, Fla., for the spring semester. The U.S. u-17s will compete in the 2013 CONCACAF Championship from April 6-19 in Panama.