President Trump's nominee to the 8th Circuit Court of Appeals was confirmed by the Senate on Thursday.

Ralph R. Erickson, a federal district court judge from North Dakota, won bipartisan support, and was confirmed in a 95-1 vote. The only "no" vote came from Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass.

He sailed through the Senate Judiciary Committee in September, 20-0.

"At the end of the day, I think intellectual honesty requires as a judge just to do the work as best we can [and] not be so wedded to any individual theory that it trumps reason," Erickson said during July hearings on his nomination. "Kind of my philosophy is you follow the law, follow the law, follow the law right up until the point that it looks completely crazy and then you say hold on, wait a minute, stop."

The 8th Circuit Court of Appeals has jurisdiction over districts in Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, and South Dakota.

Former President Barack Obama's nominee for the 8th Circuit seat, Jennifer Puhl, would have been the first woman in North Dakota on the federal bench. She was unanimously approved in 2016 by Senate Judiciary, but never got a full floor vote.