The Supreme Court gave President Trump a major victory Monday when it allowed his travel ban to take effect after weeks of legal challenges that had stalled its implementation.

The ban, which Trump has attempted to implement via executive order three times, suspends travel into the U.S. for applicants from six Muslim-majority countries and added Chad, North Korea, and Venezuela to the list of affected countries.

Two federal judges, one in Hawaii and the other in Maryland, in October blocked Trump's third attempt to implement a ban on foreign nationals from six Muslim-majority countries. The appeals courts for those states will hear the cases later this week.

Trump's third ban added North Korea, Venezuela, and Chad to the list of affected countries, but neither judge included travel from North Korea or Venezuela in their decisions stopping Trump's ban. Foreigners traveling from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen are affected by the federal judges' orders.

On Monday, the Supreme Court said both judges' blocks of the ban were lifted Supreme Court until or unless the justices reject the travel ban cases or rule in the travel ban litigation.

The 9th Circuit Court Court of Appeals will televise arguments in the Hawaii case in Seattle Wednesday. The 4th Circuit Court of Appeals will broadcast audio of its arguments in the Maryland judge's case in Richmond, Va., on Friday.

The case likely will arrive on the Supreme Court's doorstep after the appeals courts rule.