Tennessee announced Friday it is leaving an alliance of 10 states that is threatening to sue the federal government over the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program.

"At this time, our office has decided not to challenge DACA in the litigation, because we believe there is a better approach," Tennessee Attorney General Herbert H. Slattery III wrote in a letter to the state's two Republican senators, Bob Corker and Lamar Alexander.

Slattery told the GOP lawmakers his office changed its mind on the issue after learning about DACA recipients' "outstanding accomplishments and laudable ambitions."

The nine remaining states — Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, South Carolina, Texas, and West Virginia — are being led by Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton.

The group of red states has urged President Trump to do away with the five-year-old Obama-era program, and told him in June it expected a decision by Tuesday. The group has threatened a lawsuit if Trump doesn't move to end the program by then.

The White House announced Friday afternoon it was not prepared to say how it planned to handle the program, which gives people under the age of 18 who were brought to the U.S. illegally the ability to apply for deportation protections and work permits for two years at a time.

"We're actually going to make that announcement on Tuesday of next week," White House press secretary Sarah Sanders told reporters at a press briefing Friday.