The Senate Democrats seen as the most likely contenders to challenge President Trump in 2020 all voted against the bill to reopen the government, even though most Democrats agreed to end the stalemate over immigration and fund the government again.

Sens. Cory Booker, D-N.J.; Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y.; Kamala Harris, D-Calif.; Bernie Sanders, I-Vt.; and Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass., all voted against the spending bill Monday. Sens. Jeff Merkley, D-Ore., and Chris Murphy, D-Conn., whose names have also been included in some 2020 speculation, voted "no" as well.

In all, Sixteen Democrats voted against the bill, along with two Republicans: Sens. Mike Lee, R-Utah, and Rand Paul, R-Ky.

Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar and Ohio Sen. Sherrod Brown were the only two Democrats with some 2020 talk behind them to vote "yes."

The Senate voted 81-18 after Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., persuaded Democrats to vote to fund the government through Feb. 8 in exchange for assurances that there would be a separate vote on immigration.

Funding for the government lapsed at midnight Saturday. The House was expected to take up the vote later Monday, before sending the bill for Trump's signature to end the shutdown.