President Trump added Chad, Venezuela, and North Korea to the list of countries banned from sending immigrants to the United States.

Trump also dropped Sudan from the list, bringing the total of countries covered under the travel ban to eight, according to a new executive order released Sunday night.

"The Secretary of Homeland Security, in consultation with the Secretary of State and the Attorney General, has determined that a small number of countries -- out of nearly 200 evaluated -- remain deficient at this time with respect to their identity-management and information-sharing capabilities, protocols, and practices," Trump wrote in the declaration. "In some cases, these countries also have a significant terrorist presence within their territory."

The exception is Venezuela, from which only government officials will be banned.

"Venezuela's government fails to share public-safety and terrorism-related information adequately, fails to satisfy at least one key risk criterion, and has been assessed to be not fully cooperative with respect to receiving its nationals subject to final orders of removal from the United States," Trump wrote.

"There are, however, alternative sources for obtaining information to verify the citizenship and identity of nationals from Venezuela. As a result, the restrictions imposed by this proclamation focus on government officials of Venezuela who are responsible for the identified inadequacies."

The White House said the countries can work their way off the list.

"The restrictions being imposed on these eight countries are conditional and may be lifted as they work with the United States Government to ensure the safety of Americans," a White House statement read. "We look forward to all countries meeting the new requirements for cooperation with the United States as we continue to take steps necessary to protect our national security."

Iraq, which was included in the first iteration of the travel ban in January, was not included in the latest version.

However, Trump said Iraqis should still be subject to extra vetting when coming into the United States.

"The Secretary of Homeland Security also assesses that Iraq did not meet the baseline, but that entry restrictions and limitations under a Presidential proclamation are not warranted," Trump wrote. "The Secretary of Homeland Security recommends, however, that nationals of Iraq who seek to enter the United States be subject to additional scrutiny to determine if they pose risks to the national security or public safety of the United States."

The close relationship between the United States and the Iraqi government outweighed those concerns, Trump argued.

The new order handed down Sunday continues the process of banning individuals from other countries from the United States as the travel ban that went into effect in June was set to expire.

All nationals from Iran, Syria, North Korea are suspended from coming to the United States. Chadians, Yemenis, and Libyans are banned on coming from the U.S. as immigrants and on as nonimmigrants on business (B-1), tourist (B-2), and business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas. Non-immigrant Somalis will face tougher restrictions and security measures before entering the U.S. and all immigrant Somalis are suspended from coming into the U.S.

The new restrictions will go into effect on Oct. 18.